top of page
Search
  • gracenroyal

I’ll make the best of broken egg shells

Updated: Apr 28, 2022

(TW: Suicide, self-harm)


So what if I do die?


What if I finally blot myself out of existence –

cut the albatross from around the necks of those who love me?

I’ll watch the funeral procession and it won’t be a relief.

They’ll pick that albatross right back up

and they’ll carry it with them for the rest of their lives.


Death is not an easy wound to heal from –

it’s a cut that will not close, one that needs grafting,

stitching and surgery and months in wrapping.

It will never just be my wrists I’m slitting,

never just my body I’m scarring.


It would hurt them,

hurt them perhaps more than my heavy existence does every day.

All that misplaced guilt, all that misplaced blame.

I won’t pretend it will be me they’d be lost without;

it would be the life before the wounding that haunts them.


So what if I do die?


Who would clean out the guinea pigs or do the laundry?

Who would do the washing up and dust on Saturdays?

Who would turn the oven on or try to keep the peace?


Someone. Someone would.

It would be inconvenient for a while but I’m not irreplaceable.


Still, what if I do die

and never get to watch series four of BBC Ghosts

or season seven of Grantchester?

What if I never get to read all the books on my list

and what if I never get to cuddle the guinea pigs or go to the island

or chat over coffee with my ma again?


Such small things, but in the end, the small things will save you.


So what if I don’t die and go on wanting to die forever?

What if I don’t die and crawl through the years

with nothing to show for it besides cut up knees?


It’s all just so what in the end, I suppose,

because smaller wounds on my arms will always be better

than inflicting one large one on the others that will never close.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Carry your ill humour to the moors

Part of my places project. CW: eating disorders, eating disorder behaviours and thoughts, mention of sick Life repeats itself in various ways and October arrives with a restless yearning for the Bront

A poem for my ma (that I'll never let her read)

I know what you mean, though you don’t quite say it. You thought, by now, that you’d be living with the more ordinary metaphors, but instead, you’re still playing mother bird, bringing food back to th

Holiday Romance (take two)

CW: eating disorders The cliffs are two arms that wrap the waves up in a safe embrace and the evenings are the calmest shade of blue. You can stand at the edge of the world here, utterly alone before

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page