top of page
Search
  • gracenroyal

I put all my eggs in one basket and now the basket’s got a hole in it

So what if I don’t die?


What if five years into the future,

it’s a warmer day in January

and my heart is still beating

and I’m breathing the same air,

placing my feet on the same ground

I’ve walked so many times before?


The end of the world is that bit closer

and I’m far too old for all the first times

but I still haven’t done any of the things

I was meant to do when I was ten years younger.


I’m twenty-nine, nearly three whole decades old

and nothing to show for it, bar the degree shut up

in the cupboard where I keep my obsolete jumpers

and the four hundred pages of poetry that reads like

one long suicide note that I couldn’t figure out how to end.


Perhaps there’s monotony; perhaps there’s pain and work;

perhaps things are simply worse;

I’ve gone easy sliding back into the disaster zone:

It happens all the time.


And so what if I don’t die and things go right?


I’m a real grown up person with a mind that’s ordered

and I do what I love and I’ve found someone to love

and we’ve somehow saved the world and I’m

happy, happy, happy.


It’s a limp, ill-defined notion:

I cannot fill in the detail or

add in the words between the lines.

By which I mean it’s not real.

It’s not real, it’s not real.


So what if I don’t die and I’ve pinned all my hopes on it

and all I’m left with is the bland joy of spotting

the egret or the kingfisher when I’m out on my walks

or the bland peace of sometimes visiting the island

if only for the sake of recalling the days

when other futures still seemed possible?


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Carry your ill humour to the moors

Part of my places project. CW: eating disorders, eating disorder behaviours and thoughts, mention of sick Life repeats itself in various ways and October arrives with a restless yearning for the Bront

A poem for my ma (that I'll never let her read)

I know what you mean, though you don’t quite say it. You thought, by now, that you’d be living with the more ordinary metaphors, but instead, you’re still playing mother bird, bringing food back to th

Holiday Romance (take two)

CW: eating disorders The cliffs are two arms that wrap the waves up in a safe embrace and the evenings are the calmest shade of blue. You can stand at the edge of the world here, utterly alone before

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page