top of page
Search
  • gracenroyal

It must be hard work to give therapy to the dead

Let’s say I was born and then I died but I got stuck –

an unalive thing caught up in flesh.

Let’s say I’m a ghost and no one knows it yet –

tethered by unbreakable strings to a body.

I can go wandering, separate the two, occasionally,

but I always fall back in and it hurts –

clawing pains in the chest,

numbness in the limbs,

skull splitting in the head.

Let’s say I’m only half in touch with the world –

several steps back in the in-between.

I can reach out a hand, I can love, but not in a living way.

It’s cold, see; it doesn’t cross the void;

it gets lost in the in-between, untouchable.

Let’s say I’m only half here in the now –

others will reach out, lay a hand on my arm

and while it won’t go through me, on account of the body,

it will feel wrong against my soul.

Let’s say I’m already a dead thing trying to be an alive thing –

it’s an exhausting pretence, part of me always writhing;

always a distance between me and the living.

I cannot stand the body; I cannot stand the living rules.

I maim the body, cut it up, starve it, sicken it;

I play by the rules but I can’t commit.

Let’s say I’m a haunting that needs some soothing –

what is offered is the meddling hands that promise to fix me;

they’ll make me normal; they’ll give me the allusion of connection.

They’ll prescribe me pills and feedings and regular activities;

the end goal is always living; the end goal is always work;

the end goal is hiding the dead parts.

I do not want this: I just want permission to continue my haunting.

I want validation that I do not belong.

Let’s just say I’m a ghost, because it’s easier than the truth –

See, I’m just a selfish thing who finds it better to be ill;

I’m just a flimsy thing who won’t partake in the world.

It’s easier to imagine that I’m different as opposed to a dreadful person,

so I’ll play at the ghost, slipping into fake time.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Carry your ill humour to the moors

Part of my places project. CW: eating disorders, eating disorder behaviours and thoughts, mention of sick Life repeats itself in various ways and October arrives with a restless yearning for the Bront

A poem for my ma (that I'll never let her read)

I know what you mean, though you don’t quite say it. You thought, by now, that you’d be living with the more ordinary metaphors, but instead, you’re still playing mother bird, bringing food back to th

Holiday Romance (take two)

CW: eating disorders The cliffs are two arms that wrap the waves up in a safe embrace and the evenings are the calmest shade of blue. You can stand at the edge of the world here, utterly alone before

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page