top of page
Search
  • gracenroyal

May there be no sadness of farewell

It’s kind of funny how the place I feel the greatest

semblance of hope for the future is

at the top of a cliff,

no cordons to

keep

me

from

falling,

ever worsening

slippage along

the edges

and the words of a poet carved into stone, moments before the narrative

plunges into stormy waters.



And yet here has always been glorious –

an arms wide open sensation, grasping the whole world between my fingers,

reaching for an untouchable sky, looking at the end of the world and seeing more, more, more

instead of a cold, hard blankness.


Here’s where the land rolls out in patchwork possibility, where the sea sparkles and dolphins leap from the waves like some kind of fantasy. Here’s where the sky is endless blue or bursting with sunlight, and the rain is falling somewhere else, far out at sea. Here’s the place of well walked traditions that never grow dull, the place of easy, endless daydreams. Here’s the place where I thought perhaps, I could tolerate this body.


This year, I walked it twice and on the final day, I paused

for a moment in the green and the blue and thought,

if I could stay here for a little longer, here in the slippage

of real and unreal, danger and safety, fantasy and possibility,

here on top of the world,

maybe I would believe that things still have the potential to change.



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Carry your ill humour to the moors

Part of my places project. CW: eating disorders, eating disorder behaviours and thoughts, mention of sick Life repeats itself in various ways and October arrives with a restless yearning for the Bront

A poem for my ma (that I'll never let her read)

I know what you mean, though you don’t quite say it. You thought, by now, that you’d be living with the more ordinary metaphors, but instead, you’re still playing mother bird, bringing food back to th

Holiday Romance (take two)

CW: eating disorders The cliffs are two arms that wrap the waves up in a safe embrace and the evenings are the calmest shade of blue. You can stand at the edge of the world here, utterly alone before

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page