top of page
Search
  • gracenroyal

The Other Home

It's not real, but when it comes down to it, neither am I.

Just a ghost, rattling round inside a tin can body,

just a collection of ideas inside a half-written book,

just an omnibus of the dullest soap – all the same stories with different names.

So I’m a ghost-girl, half-alive and half-anxiety,

and maybe it’s not real, who gets to decide reality anyway?


It’s real enough for me – orange brick and gravel driveway –

and it feels half like home because I’ve spent enough time there already.


It’s not real but it might as well be.

I can see everything that took place on the stairs,

in the library, in the cave, up against that tree.

I act it out like it’s fiction and I don’t mention

how it feels more substantial than my life,

more, ironically, alive, more connected.

I don’t mention it in the same way as I don’t say,

oh, Pat would love this, when we walk into the retro shop,

or voice that The Captain would enjoy The Needles Old Battery.

I have to pretend to be at least a little in reality, but still,

in the house, I’m smiling without doubting my facial expressions,

because I’m here, I’m really here.


I could stay there forever, but we’ve got a two-hour slot,

so I have my photo taken with Fanny and Dante

and I pull my real-person face with my real-person eyes,

and then I go back to the place where I pretend to be living, but never fully.

See, I’ve always been good at inhabiting two places simultaneously,

so I’m here and I’m there and it’s all as real as it needs to be.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Carry your ill humour to the moors

Part of my places project. CW: eating disorders, eating disorder behaviours and thoughts, mention of sick Life repeats itself in various ways and October arrives with a restless yearning for the Bront

A poem for my ma (that I'll never let her read)

I know what you mean, though you don’t quite say it. You thought, by now, that you’d be living with the more ordinary metaphors, but instead, you’re still playing mother bird, bringing food back to th

Holiday Romance (take two)

CW: eating disorders The cliffs are two arms that wrap the waves up in a safe embrace and the evenings are the calmest shade of blue. You can stand at the edge of the world here, utterly alone before

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page